Annual General meeting of SFFANZ, the Science Fiction and Fantasy Association of New Zealand held at Surry Hotel, Great North Road, Auckland on April 27, 2014.

Meeting Opened: 10.17am

Present: 18 members

As chair of the meeting, Norman Cates welcomed everyone.

Apologies were received from: Alan Robson and Stephen Minchin

Proxies were held for June Young (Jayne Gock) and Simon Litten (John Toon)

Minutes of the previous meeting, held at Au Contraire2 on July 14, 2013.

Norman Cates moved, and Lorain Clark seconded "That the meeting take the minutes as read".

Carried without dissent.

Matters Arising:

Norman Cates reported that the rules had been updated with changes from last year's Annual General Meeting and that the long list of nominees for the 2014 round had been posted on the website. He noted that Jenner Litchwark had not sent a proposal on changing the SJV awards system to a judged award.

He noted that trophies will need to be made in this financial year. He thanked Mike Hansen for his assistance in creating the trophies, and Weta Workshop for their help too.

Treasurer's Report

John Toon, as treasurer for SFFANZ, presented the annual accounts. He thanked Simon Litten for the preparation of the accounts. He noted that SFFANZ has a membership of about 50 people. The largest expense this year has been to do with the SJVs. The convention account has remained largely unchanged at \$2052.90 and the main account has \$5213.84.

Questions were raised about how much it would cost to get the trophies made. Norman suggested this would be \$3000-\$4000 if they were made professionally. He reported that Mike Hansen was paid \$10 per trophy for manufacture, but this amount may need to be increased.

John Toon moved, and Maree Pavletich seconded "That the meeting accept the accounts as presented".

Carried without dissent.

Election of Officers

The following people stood for nomination:

Jan Butterworth

Norman Cates

Lorain Clark

Lynelle Howell

Stephen Minchin

Alan Robson

John Toon

David Thorne

Maree Payletich

Norman Cates proposed, and Graham Edge seconded that the above nominees be made the board for the 2014-15 term. Carried without dissent.

President's Report

Norman Cates, as president, thanked the board for their service, particularly to Jo Toon and Harry Musgrave who were not re-elected this year. He thanked Simon Litten and Alan Robson for their continued work with the book reviews. Norman noted that Alan Robson had recently been interviewed regarding Wellington author Phillip Mann's nomination for the Arthur C. Clarke award.

He hoped this year to get an online membership system working properly, and would like to see this offered to clubs and groups as well.

Norman noted that Stephen Minchin has been looking into getting the SJV nominees into e-format so they could be read by convention attendees and voters. It is hoped this can be done for the 2015 awards.

He also thanked Ross Temple for his continued work on the SFFANZ blog and facebook pages.

It is his intention to see SFFANZ become more proactive, assisting cons and clubs as well as administering awards.

Norman Cates moved, and John Toon seconded "That the president's report be accepted". Carried.

General Business:

Updating Bank Signatories

John Toon reported that signatories need to be changed – Ross Temple and Simon Litten, who are no longer on the board, are still listed on the account. In order to satisfy bank requirements for signatory changes, we need to note in the minutes of the AGM who will be signatories and their first, middle and last names.

John Toon moved, and Gary Freedman seconded "That any member of the board of SFFANZ can be a signatory on the SFFANZ accounts, subject to providing their details as required by the bank."

Carried

It was noted that Norman Cates, John Toon and David Thorne should be the primary signatories to the account.

Note: Banking details discussed at the meeting have been omitted from the public record in order to minimise the potential of unauthorised access.

Nomination process

As chair of the SJV sub-committee, Lynelle Howell expressed frustration of the number of replica nominations that are received each year because nominees get their friends, fans and family to nominate them. She would like to see a change in the nomination system, perhaps where SFFANZ members' nominations get more weight, and asked for views on this.

Kelly Buchanan suggested that having a long list available on the website of what's been published/produced in the last year would be helpful for encouraging nominations from SFFANZ members and known fans. Alicia Ponder noted that people might be scared off by the "requirement" to provide nominee details. Norman noted this is not a "requirement" but that sometimes it's difficult to find and contact people, and where that happens, they don't get onto the ballot.

Alicia Ponder offered to provide SFFANZ with a list of eligible works in our known categories. It was noted these would still need to be verified as being eligible.

Kelly Buchanan suggested there should be a name change in describing the nomination rounds as the long list and the short list, since the long list contained works that were self-nominated. She was concerned that people could go round claiming "nominated for an SJV" when they had done it themselves. We need to find a

balance where producing the list of nominated works can promote the awards, without drawing attention to the self-nominators.

There being no further business, the meeting closed 11.02am.